For Starters

Hello, and welcome to my first post. 

Before I write any reviews I thought I would tell you a little bit about myself regarding the nature of my blog. 

From the age of 16 I have worked full time and used to enjoy spending my wages on treating my friends to lunch or dinner at local pubs, much to their delight. As I have gotten older, not much has changed, except I now make my friends pay for their own meals or the other half pays for mine. 

Over the years my tastes have radically changed. Eight years ago I went to an Indian restaurant for my Brother in Laws birthday and refused point blank to have anything other then scampi and chips. To this day I get ridiculed over my scampi obsession. I even phoned a restaurant once to check that scampi was on the menu before agreeing to go!  

Don’t get me wrong, I am still partial to a bit of scampi, but there is a whole world of food out there just waiting to be explored. I genuinely feel people are missing out when they either cook or order the same dishes over and over again. 

Lets talk about food heaven and hells. My least favourite food is easy, bananas! Even the thought of them turns my stomach, especially the idea of eating them once they have started to go brown. Why would you eat something that was once yellow but now appears to be going mouldy? Each to their own though. 

My food heaven is a little trickier, there is too many to choose from. Remember we are just talking about ingredients and not complete dishes. I love the ‘meaty’ type of vegetable such as potatoes, parsnips, and butternut squash. However, I adore game too, duck, rabbit, venison, and pheasant. As I write this I am thinking of more and more ingredients – pork belly, paprika, chorizo, smoked salmon, goats cheese, mozzarella…. 

That’s enough about me for now, reviews, recommendations and rants to follow. 

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy my future blogs. 

=D

Leave a comment